View unanswered posts | View active topics  It is currently Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:18 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Garlic
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:18 pm 

Not sure this should be in the "herbs" area, but better placed here than in vegetables I guess.

Anyway - one crop I try and grow every year is garlic. I have a pink skinned Australian variety that I have been growing for about 5 years now. I started with a few bulbs that my mother got from a neighbour who was dabbling with commercial growing. Although I don't think that went anywhere, at least I got the benefit of some stock to start my home use crop.

Being the slacker that I am, I always end up planting later than I should in the season, meaning that I struggle to harvest a decent sized bulb before the wet hits in Spring. I'm about a month late again this year, but pulled my finger out this weekend and prepared 1 of the couple of beds that I will plant out with garlic this year. Hopefully will find time to do the second bed next weekend.

At least one bed is now planted though, so that is something. I estimate that I planted 300 cloves. I won't quite end up with that many plants as not every clove will come up, but most should. These things last really well to the extent that the bulbs I harvested in October last year are as good as new and a reasonable proportion of what I have left from the ones I harvested about the same time in 2008 are still okay for seedstock, though not really suitable for eating. About half of what I planted today came from the 2008 harvest. I expect these will not give me as great a shoot rate as the 2009 crop, but I used them anyway to keep more of my 2009 stock for eating up until my next harvest in October this year.

Provided I have time I'll get another 200 or so plants in next weekend, which fingers crossed should result in my biggest crop so far.

Advertisement

Post subject: Re: Garlic
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:08 pm